Friday, December 12, 2008

2008 Home Depot College Football Award Winners

The 2008 Home Depot College Football Awards were handed out tonight in Orlando, FL. The college football season is coming to an end and it's time to find out who is the best of the best. From the Bednarik Award, given to the nation's best defensive player, to the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the nation's best quarterback, we have it covered.

Bednarik Award Winner - Rey Maualuga
(1st player from the Pac-10 to win this award)
(Outstanding Defensive Player)

The winner of this award will be in good company -- Dan Connor (2007), Paul Posluszny (2006 and 2005), David Pollack (2004), Teddy Lehman (2003), EJ Henderson (2002), Julius Peppers (2001), Dan Morgan (2000).

Award Finalists
James Laurinaitis, Ohio State, LB: 121 tackles, 4 sacks, 2 INT.
Rey Maualuga, USC, LB: 68 tackles, 2.5 tackles for loss, 2 INT.
Aaron Maybin, Penn State, DE: 45 tackles, 19 tackles for loss, 12 sacks.

Biletnikoff Award Winner - Michael Crabtree
(2 years in a row)
(Wide Receiver)

The Biletnikoff trophy weighs 56 pounds, has won several national awards for design excellence, and is the largest of all the college football position awards. Previous winners include Michael Crabtree (2007), Calvin Johnson (2006), Mike Hass (2005), Braylon Edwards (2004), Larry Fitzgerald (2003) and Charles Rogers (2002).

Award Finalists
Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State: 74 REC, 1,313 YDS, 18 TD.
Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech: 93 REC, 1,135 YDS, 18 TD.
Jeremy Maclin, Missouri: 88 REC, 1,175 YDS, 11 TD.

Lou Groza Award Winner - Graham Gano

The Lou Groza Award is named for NFL Hall-of-Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. He is regarded as the first kicker to be truly considered an offensive weapon. In 2007 the award was won by Thomas Weber of Arizona State.

Award Finalists
Josh Arauco, Arkansas State: 89.5 FG%, long of 44 YDS, 87 PTS.
Graham Gano, Florida State: 92.3 FG%, 5-7 from 50+, long of 53 YDS.
Louie Sakoda, Utah: 91.3 FG%, 2-3 from 50+, long of 53 YDS.

Ray Guy Award Winner - Matt Fodge

Candidates for the Ray Guy Award are evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to their team with emphasis placed on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20, average return yardage and percentage not returned. In 2007 Durant Brooks of Georgia Tech won the award.

Award Finalists
Matt Fodge, Oklahoma State: 31 punts for 1,366 YDS. Average: 44.1. Long 71.
Pat McAfee, West Virginia: 55 punts for 2,457 YDS. Average: 44.7. Long: 65.
Louie Sakoda, Utah: 50 punts for 2,086 YDS. Average. 41.7. Long: 81.

Maxwell Award Winner - Tim Tebow (first 2-time winner since 1953)
(Outstanding Player)

The Maxwell Award is given to the most outstanding player in college football. The following candidates led their respective teams through their astonishing play on the field and their leadership. The 2007 recipient of the Maxwell Award was Florida quarterback Tim Tebow.

Award Finalists
Graham Harrell, Texas Tech, QB: 115.4 RAT, 4,747 YDS, 41 TD, 7 INT.
Colt McCoy, Texas, QB: 125.6 RAT, 77.6 CMP%, 32 TD, 7 INT.
Tim Tebow, Florida, QB: 125.7 RAT, 65.0 CMP%, 25 TD, 2 INT.

Davey O'Brien Award Winner - Sam Bradford

The Davey O'Brien Award is named after the All-American football player at Texas Christian University who was named to thirteen All-American teams and became the only college football player to win the Heisman, Maxwell, and Walter Camp trophies in the same year. The 2007 recipient of the Davey O'Brien Award was Florida quarterback Tim Tebow.

Award Finalists
Sam Bradford, Oklahoma: 134.8 RAT, 4,080 YDS, 46 TD, 6 INT.
Graham Harrell, Texas Tech, QB: 115.4 RAT, 4,747 YDS, 41 TD, 7 INT.
Colt McCoy, Texas, QB: 125.6 RAT, 77.6 CMP%, 32 TD, 7 INT.

Outland Trophy - Andre Smith

(Interior Lineman)

The 2007 recipient of the Outland Trophy was defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey of LSU. This award is available to either offensive or defensive lineman, you just have to be the best in the trenches to win it.

Award Finalists
Michael Oher, Mississippi: Running backs averaged 4.6 YDS per carry.
Duke Robinson, Oklahoma: Offense ranked third in the nation.
Andre Smith, Alabama: Given up only one sack all season.

Jim Thorpe Award - Malcolm Jenkins
(Defensive Back)

The Thorpe Award has been presented since 1986, based on performance on the field, athletic ability and character. Recent winners include Antoine Cason of Arizona (2007), Aaron Ross of Texas (2006), Michael Huff of Texas (2005), Carlos Rogers of Auburn (2004), Derrick Strait of Oklahoma (2003), Terence Newman of Kansas State (2002) and Roy Williams of Oklahoma (2001).

Award Finalists
Eric Berry, Tennessee, SS: Leads the nation with 7 INT, two returned for TD, 3 sacks.
Malcolm Jenkins, Ohio State, CB: 3 INT, 3 forced fumbles and 2 blocked kicks.
Taylor Mays, USC, S: 48 tackles, 7 pass breakups, for USC's No. 1 ranked defense.

Doak Walker Award Winner - Shonn Greene
(Running Back)

The Doak Walker Award is the only major collegiate football award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification. It recognizes the nation's premier running back for his accomplishments on the field, achievement in the classroom and citizenship in the community. The 2007 recipient of the Doak Walker Award was Darren McFadden of Arkansas.

Award Finalists
Shonn Greene, Iowa: 1,729 rush YDS, 17 TD. Long: 75 YDS.
Knowshon Moreno, Georgia: 1,338 rush YDS, 16 TD. Long: 68 YDS.
Javon Ringer, Michigan State: 1,590 rush YDS, 21 TD. Long: 64 YDS
Other Award Winners:

Walter Camp Award (Player of the Year): Colt McCoy, QB, Texas

Dick Butkus Award (Nation's Best Linebacker): Aaron Curry, LB, Wake Forest

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (Nation's Best Sr. Quarterback): Graham Harrell, QB, Texas Tech

Home Depot Coach of the Year Award: Nick Saban, Alabama

Bronco Nagurski Award (Defensive player of the Year): Brian Orakpo, DE, Texas

Vince Lombardi/Rotary Award (Outstanding Lineman): Brian Orakpo, DE, Texas

Ted Hendricks Award (Defensive End of the Year): Brian Orakpo, DE, Texas

Rimington Award (Most Outstanding Center): A.Q. Shipley, C, Penn State

John Mackey Award (Most Outstanding Tight End): Chase Coffman, TE, Missouri

Frank Broyles Award (Top Assistant Coach): Kevin Wilson, Oklahoma

Disney Spirit Award (Most Inspirational Player or Team): Tim Tebow, QB, Florida

Contributions to College Football Award: Bobby Bowden, Florida State

Photo Credit: College Press Box (Ohio St., Florida)