Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Davey O'Brien Fan Vote Heats Up

The O'Brien continues on-the-road Fan Vote campaign

The O'Brien will set up displays on four Semifinalists' campuses on Saturday

FORT WORTH, Texas (November 3, 2008) -
On Saturday, November 8, the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) will continue the second week of its on-the-road campaign visiting its 13 Semifinalists' campuses. After paying a visit to Semifinalists Graham Harrell, Zac Robinson, Matthew Stafford and Tim Tebow last Saturday, The O'Brien will pack its bags and travel to four more campuses this weekend. College football enthusiasts and fans alike are encouraged to stop by The O'Brien displays and cast their vote for their favorite Semifinalist. Fans who vote will also have the opportunity to be entered into the "Defend Your Pride. Vote The O'Brien Sweepstakes," for a chance to win a trip to the 2009 O'Brien Awards Dinner. The display will open prior to kickoff and continue through the first quarter of each game.

The O'Brien on-the-road tour will collect votes throughout the Semifinalist period until Finalists are announced November 24. Finalists will be selected by The O'Brien Selection Committee, comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, with 5% of the overall voting tally coming directly from the Fan Vote. Fans who are not able to cast a vote in person are encouraged to register and vote at

Saturday, November 8 (Week 11 Visits)

Alphabetical by last name

· Chase Daniel

Kansas State at Missouri

· Max Hall

San Diego State at BYU

· Colt McCoy

Baylor at Texas

· Mark Sanchez

California at USC

About The O'Brien Fan Vote

Fans can now register and vote for The O'Brien Fan Vote online at to show their support for their favorite Semifinalist. The Fan Vote will count as 5% in determining the Finalists and Winner. The 2008 Winner will be announced during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing December 11 on ESPN. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Fans can download an interactive "widget" featuring a voting link and the ability to post and share on Web sites, social networks and blogs by clicking here.

Fans can also show their support by adding The O'Brien Facebook application to their Facebook Profile. The new application can be found by searching O'Brien Fan Vote and clicking the applications tab or by clicking here.

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

American Airlines is the official travel partner of The O'Brien.