Monday, November 17, 2008

Eight Semi-Finalists Announced for 2008 John Mackey Award

Manhasset, N.Y. (November 17, 2008) - The Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC) has announced eight semi-finalists for the 2008 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are Chase Coffman (JR, Missouri), Jared Cook (JR, South Carolina), Jermaine Gresham (JR, Oklahoma), Mark Hafner (SR, Houston), Branden Ledbetter (SR, Western Michigan), Brandon Pettigrew (SR, Oklahoma State), Dennis Pitta (JR, BYU) and D.J. Williams (SO, Arkansas).

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee. The 2008 recipient of "The Mackey" will be announced on December 11, 2008 at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show live on ESPN and presented at the Nassau County Sports Commission Annual Awards Dinner on April 27, 2009.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame Tight End John Mackey. The Nassau County Sports Commission is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization that promotes sports and healthy lifestyle for Nassau County residents and is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

For additional information, please visit or