Tuesday, October 14, 2008


DALLAS (FWAA) - Toledo free safety Tyrrell Herbert has been named the FWAA/Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week for games of the weekend of Oct. 11.

Herbert, a 6-2, 201-pound senior from Pittsburgh, Pa., had two interceptions in the Rockets' 13-10 victory at Michigan - the first win for a current Mid-American Conference team in 25 all-time games against the Wolverines.

Herbert returned his first interception 100 yards for a score, the Rockets' lone touchdown on the day. Herbert's second pick came on the first play of the fourth quarter and gave Toledo the ball at Michigan's 40-yard line. The latter interception set up a 48-yard field goal for what proved to be the winning points. Herbert also recorded four unassisted tackles in the game.

Herbert will be added to the 2008 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List. The Bronko Nagurski Trophy will be presented to the best defensive player in college football on Dec. 7 by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte, N.C. Five finalists for the Nagurski Trophy will be announced on Nov. 17.

Each week during the 2008 season the FWAA All-America Committee will select a national defensive player of the week from nominations made by the 11 Division I Bowl Subdivision Conferences and major independents.

Last season, LSU tackle Glenn Dorsey won the coveted Bronko Nagurski Trophy during the 13th season the FWAA has named a national defensive player of the year.

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,000 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.