Tuesday, October 28, 2008

The O'Brien takes Fan Vote campaign on-the-road

FORT WORTH, Texas (October 28, 2008) - Beginning Saturday, November 1, the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) will launch an on-the-road campaign visiting its 13 Semifinalists' campuses. In conjunction with the online Fan Vote, The O'Brien on-the-road campaign will visit a home game for each of the Semifinalists over the next four weekends promoting each quarterback for the award. College football enthusiasts and fans alike are encouraged to vote at The O'Brien display for their favorite Semifinalist. Fans who vote will also be entered into the "Defend Your Pride. Vote The O'Brien Sweepstakes," for a chance to win a trip to the 2009 O'Brien Awards Dinner. The display will open prior to kickoff and continue through the first half of each game.

The O'Brien on-the-road tour will collect votes throughout the Semifinalist period until Finalists are announced November 24. Finalists will be selected by The O'Brien Selection Committee, comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, with 5% of the overall voting tally coming directly from the Fan Vote. Fans who are not able to cast a vote in person are encouraged to register and vote at www.VoteOBrien.org.

November 1 (Week 10 Visits)

Listing is alphabetical by player's last name.

* Graham Harrell
Texas at Texas Tech: Saturday, November 1

* Zac Robinson
Iowa State at Oklahoma State: Saturday, November 1

* Tim Tebow & Matthew Stafford (in Jacksonville*)
Florida vs. Georgia: Saturday, November 1

* This game, since held at a neutral site, will feature two displays, one for each Semifinalist.

About The O'Brien Fan Vote
Fans can now register and vote for The O'Brien Fan Vote online at www.VoteOBrien.org to show their support for their favorite Semifinalist. The Fan Vote will count as 5% in determining the Finalists and Winner. The 2008 Winner will be announced during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing December 11 on ESPN. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Fans can download an interactive "widget" featuring a voting link and the ability to post and share on Web sites, social networks and blogs by clicking here.

Fans can also show their support by adding The O'Brien Facebook application to their Facebook Profile. The new application can be found by searching O'Brien Fan Vote and clicking the applications tab or by clicking here.

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.