Thursday, October 23, 2008

O'Brien Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up for Week Nine

FORT WORTH, Texas (October 22, 2008) - The 2008 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Match-ups for week nine feature eight O'Brien Watch List candidates. The O'Brien continues to highlight weekly match-ups featuring O'Brien candidates as they compete for the prestigious award honoring the nation's best quarterback in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). Fans can show their support by visiting and casting their vote. The top three candidates in the Fan Vote will automatically be added to the Semifinalist List announced Monday, October 27.

Marquee Match-up: Texas Tech at Kansas

Saturday, October 25 at 11 a.m. (CST) on ESPN
The Quarterback rivalry in the Big 12 continues this weekend as Graham Harrell and the undefeated Red Raiders battle Todd Reesing and the Kansas Jayhawks. The No. 8 Raiders hope to continue their winning streak after defeating Texas A&M 43-25 last week. Tech currently boasts the longest winning streak in the country along with Penn State and Utah with nine straight wins. Harrell completed 44-of-56 passes last Saturday for 450 yards and three touchdowns. Previously honored as The O'Brien Quarterback of the Week, Harrell leads the nation in passing yards with 2,761.

The Jayhawks return to Lawrence after losing on the road to the Oklahoma Sooners. Reesing and his team will have tremendous support at their home field as this game marks Kansas' 95th homecoming. Reesing, a junior, passed for 342 yards and two touchdowns in last week's game. He ranks fourth nationally in pass completions (195) and seventh in passing yards (2,322).

The rivalry between these two Texas natives (Harrell from Ennis and Reesing from Austin) is nothing new as both are returning starters who were honored last year as 2007 O'Brien Semifinalists. Both quarterbacks are currently ranked in the top 10 of The O'Brien Fan Vote.

Head-to-Head O'Brien Match-ups (based on start times)
These O'Brien Watch List quarterbacks will clash in this week's games.

· South Florida (Matt Grothe) at Louisville (Hunter Cantwell)
Saturday, October 25 at 2:30 p.m. (CST) on

· Notre Dame (Jimmy Clausen) at Washington (Jake Locker*)
Saturday, October 25 at 7 p.m. (CST) on ESPN2

· USC (Mark Sanchez) at Arizona (Willie Tuitama)
Saturday, October 25 at 9:15 p.m. (CST) on FSN


About The O'Brien Fan Vote
Fans can now register and vote for The O'Brien Fan Vote online at to show their support for their favorite college quarterback. Fans will be able to choose from any of the 119 FBS quarterbacks beginning on Tuesday, September 2, leaving room for the possibility of a quarterback who is not on the Watch List to win the award. The top three quarterbacks who garner the most votes will be added to The O'Brien Semifinalist List, and the Fan Vote will then count as 5% in determining the Finalists and Winner. The 2008 Winner will be announced during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing December 11 on ESPN. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Fans can also download an interactive "widget" at featuring a voting link and the ability to post and share on Web sites, social networks and blogs.

Fans can show their support by adding The O'Brien Facebook application to their Facebook Profile. The new application can be found by searching O'Brien Fan Vote and clicking the applications tab or at

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit