Monday, October 27, 2008

2008 O’Brien Quarterback Award Semifinalists Announced

FORT WORTH, Texas (October 27, 2008) – The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O’Brien) today proudly announced its 2008 Semifinalist List. The list highlights 13 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks who will vie for the award honoring the nation’s best quarterback until Finalists are announced November 24.

2008 O’Brien Semifinalists
Sam Bradford SO Oklahoma Big 12
Daryll Clark JR Penn State Big Ten
Chase Daniel SR Missouri Big 12
Graham Harrell SR Texas Tech Big 12
David Johnson SR Tulsa C-USA
Colt McCoy JR Texas Big 12
Todd Reesing JR Kansas Big 12
Zac Robinson JR Oklahoma State Big 12
Mark Sanchez JR USC Pac-10
Matthew Stafford JR Georgia SEC
Tim Tebow JR Florida SEC
John Parker Wilson SR Alabama SEC

“These candidates represent a high level of talent from coast to coast,” said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O’Brien Foundation. “The O’Brien is proud to highlight these young men, not only for their elite quarterback skills, but for their qualities of character and leadership that the award is committed to honoring.”

Semifinalists were selected by The O’Brien Selection Committee, comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, as well as fans across the country with the top three quarterbacks from The O’Brien Fan Vote being added to the list. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on his quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership, sportsmanship and reputation as a team player. For a complete listing of O’Brien Selection Committee members, click here.

These 13 Semifinalists will contend for the award until the list is narrowed to three Finalists on November 24. All Finalists will be in attendance in Orlando, Fla., where The O’Brien Winner will be announced during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O’Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Fans are able to vote for Semifinalist candidates once daily at The voting will continue throughout the Semifinalist and Finalist rounds with 5% of the final tally coming directly from the Fan Vote.

About The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®

The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O’Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O’Brien is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit