Wednesday, January 7, 2009

O'Brien Quarterback Award National Championship Match-up

FORT WORTH, Texas (January 6, 2009) - The 2009 BCS National Championship game will feature a match-up between the current and previous Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Winners. Sam Bradford, the 2008 O'Brien Winner, and the Oklahoma Sooners will square off against the Florida Gators led by the 2007 O'Brien Winner, Tim Tebow, Thursday night in Miami, Fla.

Oklahoma Sooners vs. Florida Gators
Thursday, Jan. 8 at 7 p.m. (CST) on FOX

Bradford was named the 2008 O'Brien Winner on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which aired live from Orlando, Fla. on December 11, 2008. He is only the second sophomore to win the award after Tebow won The O'Brien in 2007. The Oklahoma signal caller threw for 4,464 yards and 48 touchdowns this season and only six interceptions, leading the Sooners to a 12-1 record and Big 12 Conference Championship Title. In addition to completing more than 68 percent of his passes, Bradford led the nation in passing touchdowns (48) and quarterback rating (186.29). After only his second season as a Sooner starter, his 84 career touchdowns established a new school record, breaking the previous record held by 2003 and 2004 O'Brien Winner, Jason White.

Tebow was named The O'Brien Winner in 2007, becoming the second Florida Gator to win the award after Danny Wuerffel received back-to-back honors in 1995 and 1996. Tebow and the Gators also enter the National Championship game with a 12-1 record and SEC Championship Title. Thursday's game will not be the first National Championship experience for Tebow, as Florida won the 2006 National Championship Title during his freshman season. Tebow accounted for 3,079 yards (2,515 passing, 564 rushing) and 40 touchdowns (28 passing, 12 rushing) this season. He is the SEC's season leader in passing touchdowns (28) and quarterback rating (176.74). As a junior, his 43 career rushing touchdowns top the Florida record books.

Thursday's game will be hosted by the Orange Bowl at Dolphin Stadium in Miami, Fla. The Sooners enter the match-up with the No. 1 (BCS) ranking, while Florida holds the No. 2 position. These two O'Brien quarterbacks will battle head-to-head as their seasons culminate in the year's most-anticipated game.

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Photo Credit: College Press Box (Oklahoma), SEC Sports Media