Thursday, March 5, 2009

On The Clock: No. 2 St. Louis Rams

Record: 2-14, 4th In the NFC West
General Manager: Billy Devaney, Head Coach: Steve Spagnuolo (1st Year), Offensive Coordinator: Pat Shurmur (1st Year), Defensive Coordinator: Ken Flajole (1st Year)

Offense Rankings: No. 27 Overall, No. 30 Scoring, No. 26 Passing, No. 25 Rushing
Defense Rankings: No. 28 Overall, No. 31 Scoring, No. 19 Passing, No. 29 Rushing

Last Five Years: 27-53; Last Playoff Appearance: 2004; Last Playoff Victory: 2004 (27-20 Over the Seattle Seahawks)

2008 Draft: (1-2) DE Chris Long, (2-33), WR Donnie Avery, (3-65), OT John Greco, (4-101) CB Justin King, (4-128) WR Keenan Burton, (5-157) OG Roy Schuening, (7-228) DB Chris Chamberlain, (7-252) David Vobora

Top Picks Last Five Years:

2008 – (1-2) DE Chris Long, Virginia
2007 – (1-13) DE Adam Carriker, Nebraska
2006 – (1-15) Tye Hill, Clemson
2005 – (1-19) OT Alex Barron, Florida St.
2004 – (1-24) RB Stephen Jackson, Oregon St.

Booms: RB Steven Jackson (1st Round 2004), S Oshiomogho "O.J." Atogwe (3rd Round 2005), C/G Richie Incognito (3rd Round 2005), Donnie Avery (2nd Round 2008)

Busts: Alex Barron (1st Round 2005), Tye Hill (1st Round 2006) Joe Klopfenstein (2nd Round 2006), Claude Wroten (3rd Round 2006), Jon Alston (3rd Round 2006), Dominique Byrd (3rd Round 2006)

Other Busts of Note: S Adam Archuleta (1st Round 2001), QB/WR Eric Crouch (3rd Round 2002), Jimmy Kennedy (1st Round 2003)

C Jason Brown (Free Agent)


S Corey Chavous (Released)
QB Trent Green (Released)
WR Drew Bennett (Released)

CB Ron Bartell
S Oshiomogho Atogwe (Franchised)

2009 Picks:

Round 1, Selection 2
Round 2, Selection 3
Round 3, Selection 2
Round 4, Selection 3
Round 5, Selection 2
Round 6, Selection 3
Round 7, Selection 2

Team Needs – Players of Interest:
1. Offensive Tackle:
Jason Smith, Baylor; Eugene Monroe, Virginia; Eben Britton, Arizona; Jamon Meredith, South Carolina; William Beatty, UConn
2. Defensive Tackle: B,J. Raji, Boston College; Jarron Gilbert, San Jose St.; Sen’Derrick Marks, Auburn
3. Cornerback: Malcolm Jenkins, Ohio State; Jairus Byrd, Oregon; D.J. Moore, Vanderbilt; Darius Butler, UConn; Sean Smith, Utah
4. Wide Receivers: Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech; Darrius Heyward-Bey, Maryland; Kenny Britt, Rutgers; Hakeem Nicks, UNC; Brian Robiskie, OSU
5. Linebackers: Aaron Curry, Wake Forest; James Laurinaitis, Ohio State; Marcus Freeman, Ohio St.

Photo Credit: College Press Box (Virginia)