Tuesday, October 30, 2007

2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® Semifinalist List

FORT WORTH, Texas (October 29,2007) - The polls have closed, the votes have been tallied and the quarterbacks have been selected. The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) today proudly announced its 2007 Semifinalist List, which features top quarterback talent from across the country.

Members of the 2007 O'Brien National Quarterback Award Semifinalist List:

· Todd Boeckman, Ohio State, JR
· Sam Bradford, Oklahoma, FR
· Colt Brennan, Hawai'i, SR
· Brian Brohm, Louisville, SR
· Shaun Carney, Air Force, SR
· Rudy Carpenter, Arizona State, JR
· Chase Daniel, Missouri, JR
· Dennis Dixon, Oregon, SR
· Graham Harrell, Texas Tech, JR
· Corey Leonard, Arkansas State, SO
· Todd Reesing, Kansas, SO
· Matt Ryan, Boston College, SR
· Tim Tebow, Florida, SO
· Pat White, West Virginia, JR
· Andre' Woodson, Kentucky, SR

When voting, the Selection Committee for The O'Brien is asked to evaluate each candidate on quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. The combination of votes from the Selection Committee and fan vote will determine the Finalists as well as the Winner this season, with 5% of the total vote coming from dedicated fans.

"The Semifinalist List confirms that being a player of strong character and leadership combined with talent and academics can translate into more than just wins on the field," said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O'Brien Foundation. "The O'Brien recognizes the diligence and commitment of these young men to their teams, their schools and the true spirit of the game."

This talented group of 15 quarterbacks will continue to jockey for position until the balloting for the three Finalists closes at noon Central Time on Sunday, Nov. 18. All Finalists will be in attendance in Orlando, Fla., where The O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6.