Friday, September 28, 2007

O'Brien Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up for Week Five

FORT WORTH, Texas (September 24, 2007) - The 2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Marquee Match-up for week 5 features two high-powered offensive units. Fan voting on The O'Brien's Web site,, is a new component to the award's voting procedures for 2007. This week's Marquee Match-up will undoubtedly grab the attention of fan voters from the West coast.

Marquee Match-up - California at Oregon (All games listed in CST)

Saturday, Sept. 29 at 2:30 p.m. on ABC

Nate Longshore leads his California Golden Bears into the Duck Pond of Oregon to square off with a potent offensive attack led by Dennis Dixon, to decide which Pac-10 power is the best of the undefeated teams. Both O'Brien aspirants are looking to make a splash in the O'Brien Fan Vote. Longshore, 13th in O'Brien voting, has completed more than 63% of his passes in leading Cal to a 4-0 start to the season. Dixon, 9th in Fan Voting, has been the focus of Oregon's offense, throwing for 11 touchdowns and rushing for more than 290 yards this season.
Fans looking for one more reason to make this Marquee Match-up special should get their Duck Calls and Bear Traps ready and start voting; this West coast battle could decide the fate of more than these teams - it could determine the next O'Brien winner.

Head-to-Head O'Brien Match-ups

These O'Brien Watch List contenders will face off in our highlighted quarterback battles of the week.

· Haugabook, Omar (Troy) at Lancaster, Kinsmon (UL - Monroe); Sept. 29 at 6 p.m. (not televised)

Fans are able to vote for the starting quarterback from any of the 119 Division I-A football programs, leaving room for the possibility of a quarterback who is not on the Watch List to win the award. Fans can vote once daily on The O'Brien's Web site in hopes of moving their pick to the final round.

The top three quarterbacks who garner the most votes will be added to The O'Brien semifinalist list, and the Fan Vote will count as 5% in determining the finalists and winner. The 2007 O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6.