Friday, September 21, 2007

O'Brien Quarterback Award Marquee Match-up for Week Four

FORT WORTH, Texas (September 17, 2007) - The 2007 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Marquee Match-Up for week 4 will feature top talent at the play caller position. Fan voting on The O'Brien's website,, is a new component to the award's voting procedures for 2007. This week's Marquee Match-up should encourage record votes from fans.

Marquee Match-up - Oklahoma at Tulsa
Friday, Sept. 21 at 8 p.m. on ESPN

Two quarterbacks who have already made ripples this season are Oklahoma's Sam Bradford and O'Brien aspirant Paul Smith of Tulsa. Bradford has been key in Oklahoma's early season success, completing more than 79% of his passes and accounting for 11 total touchdowns while bolstering a passer rating of nearly 220. Smith has completed more than 65% of his passes and earned a passer rating of nearly 196 this season.

Fans looking to get Bradford onto the O'Brien semifinalist list should take advantage of The O'Brien's new Fan Vote to challenge Tulsa with a "Boomer Sooner" that will be heard across the state.

Head-to-Head O'Brien Match-ups (All games listed in CST)

These O'Brien Watch List contenders will face off in our highlighted quarterback battles of the week.

· Clement, Chase (Rice) at McCoy, Colt (Texas); Sept. 22 at 6 p.m. on FSN

· Leonard, Corey (Arkansas State) at Ainge, Erik (Tennessee); Sept. 22 at 6 p.m. on ESPN GamePlan

The 2007 season marks the first time in The O'Brien's history that fans have a say in the voting. Fans are able to vote for the starting quarterback from any of the 119 Division I-A football programs, leaving room for the possibility of a quarterback who is not on the Watch List to win the award. Fans can vote once daily on The O'Brien's Web site in hopes of moving their pick to the final round.

The top three quarterbacks who garner the most votes will be added to The O'Brien semifinalist list, and the Fan Vote will count as 5% in determining the finalists and winner. The 2007 O'Brien winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6