Tuesday, November 27, 2007

Mackey Award Finalists Named

MANHASSET, N.Y. – The Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC) has announced three finalists for the 2007 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are Travis Beckum (JR, Wisconsin), Fred Davis (SR, USC) and Martin Rucker (SR, Missouri).

The three finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee. The 2007 recipient of “The Mackey” will be announced on December 6, 2007 at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show live on ESPN and presented at the Nassau County Sports Commission Annual Awards Dinner on April 28, 2008.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame Tight End John Mackey. The Nassau County Sports Commission is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization that promotes sports and healthy lifestyle for Nassau County residents and is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

For additional information, please visit www.johnmackeyaward.org or www.nassausports.org.

Past John Mackey Award Recipients

Year Player School
2006 Matt Spaeth - University of Minnesota
2005 Marcedes Lewis - UCLA
2004 Heath Miller - University of Virginia
2003 Kellen Winslow II - University of Miami
2002 Dallas Clark - University of Iowa
2001 Daniel Graham - University of Colorado
2000 Tim Stratton - Purdue University

Photo Credit: Mizzou Media Relations