Thursday, December 10, 2009

Colt McCoy named 2009 O'Brien Winner

FORT WORTH, Texas (Dec. 10, 2009) - The Davey O'Brien Foundation added another member to its elite group of quarterbacks today when they named Colt McCoy as the 2009 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Winner. McCoy was selected as a Finalist for The O'Brien along with Houston's Case Keenum and Florida's Tim Tebow. Troy Aikman, the 1988 O'Brien Winner, presented the award during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show from Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

"Colt McCoy has led his team to an undefeated season and berth in the BCS National Championship game. As a starter, he's led Texas to more wins than any other college quarterback. Ever. And, he's a great student. Those are just a couple of reasons why Colt McCoy is a richly deserving winner of the 2009 O'Brien Award," said Verne Lundquist, chair of the national selection committee.

This season, McCoy led the undefeated No. 2 Texas Longhorns to their first Big 12 Championship since 2005 and secured a berth in the 2010 Citi BCS National Championship game. The Longhorns will square off against No.1 Alabama on Jan. 7, 2010 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, Calif.

In the final season of his Longhorn career, McCoy completed 70.5 percent of his passes for 3,512 yards and 27 touchdowns. The quarterback from Tuscola, Texas holds 46 school records including total offense (14,815), yards (13,244) and touchdowns (112). Additionally, McCoy's 45-7 career record is the most victories by a starting quarterback in NCAA history.

McCoy is the third O'Brien Winner from the University of Texas preceded by Earl Campbell, the inaugural winner of the O'Brien Memorial Trophy (1977), and Vince Young (2005).

The Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, an elite group of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners, selected The O'Brien Winner, with the Fan Vote accounting for 5 % of the total vote. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of his quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, his reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. For a complete listing of the Selection Committee, visit

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $770,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

National College Football Awards Association
The O'Brien is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official Web site,

Photo Courtesy of College Press Box