Thursday, April 2, 2009

On The Clock: Minnesota Vikings

Record: 10-6, 1st In the NFC North
General Manager: Rick Spielman (VP of Player Personnel), Head Coach: Brad Childress (4th Year), Offensive Coordinator: Darrell Bevell (4th Year), Defensive Coordinator: Leslie Frazier (3rd Year)

Offense Rankings:
No. 17 Overall, No. 12 Scoring, No. 25 Passing, No. 5 Rushing
Defense Rankings: No. 6 Overall, No. 13 Scoring, No. 18 Passing, No. 1 Rushing

Last Five Years: 41-39; Last Playoff Appearance: 2008; Last Playoff Victory: 2004 (31-17 Over the Green Bay Packers)

2008 Draft: (2-43) S Tyrell Johnson, (5-137) QB John David Booty, (5-152) DT Letroy Guion, (6-187) C John Sullivan, (6-193) WR Jaymar Johnson

Top Picks Last Five Years:
2008 – (2-43) S Tyrell Johnson, Arkansas St.
2007 – (1-7) RB Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma
2006 – (1-17) LB Chad Greenway, Iowa
2005 – (1-7) WR Troy Williamson, South Carolina & (1-18) DE Erasmus James, Wisconsin
2004 – (1-20) DE Kenechi Udeze, USC

RB Mewelde Moore (4th Round 2004), DE Ray Edwards (4th Round 2006), LB Chad Greenway (1st Round 2006), RB Adrian Peterson (1st Round 2007), DE Brian Robison (4th Round 2007)

Busts: LB Dontarrius Thomas (2nd Round 2004), DE Darrion Scott (3rd Round 2004), WR Troy Williamson (1st Round 2005), DE Erasmus James (1st Round 2005), OG Marcus Johnson (2nd Round 2005), DB Dustin Fox (3rd Round 2005), RB Ciatrick Fason (4th Round 2005), QB Tarvaris Jackson (2nd Round 2006)

WR Glenn Holt (Free Agent)
QB Sage Rosenfels (Trade)
CB Karl Paymah (Free Agent)

C Matt Birk (FA-Baltimore)
LB Vincenzo Ciurciu (Released)
QB Gus Frerotte (Released)
RB Maurice Hicks (Released)

LB Heath Farwell
DB Charles Gordon
DE Otis Grigsby
DT Jimmy Kennedy
TE Jim Kleinsasser
DE Jayme Mitchell
DB Benny Sapp
FB Naufahu Tahi (Matched Offer Sheet)

2009 Picks:
Round 1, Selection 22
Round 2, Selection 22
Round 3, Selection 22
Round 5, Selection 22
Round 7, Selection 12 (From Washington)
Round 7, Selection 22

Team Needs – Players of Interest (Day One):
1. Quarterback:
Mark Sanchez, USC; Josh Freeman, Kansas St.
2. Offensive Tackle: Andre Smith, Alabama; Eben Britton, Arizona; William Beatty, UConn; Jamon Meredith, South Carolina
3. Wide Receiver: Percy Harvin, Florida; Darrius Heyward-Bey, Maryland; Kenny Britt, Rutgers; Hakeem Nicks, UNC; Brian Robiskie, OSU; Juaquin Iglesias, Oklahoma; Mike Thomas, Arizona
4. Middle Linebacker: Rey Maualuga, USC; James Laurinaitis, Ohio St.; Darry Beckwith, LSU
5. Center: Alex Mack, California; Max Unger, Oregon; Eric Wood, Louisville
6. Fullback: None.

Photo Credit: SEC Sports Media, UNC Athletic Communications